Brain melting, mind expanding stuff...
Mind Control

It's easy to forget, but metal initially began as a psych offshoot.

Go and listen to those early Black Sabbath albums: Ozzy may as well be telling you to tune in, turn on and cop out. But with wall after wall of Marshall amps melting yr lug holes as the same time, obviously.

Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats sit in this tradition. Leaning on the sludge nightmares of DOOM, the reclusive Cambridge outfit match this to a mind expanding template borrowed from cosmic pioneers such as Syd Barrett.

The results are, frankly, electrifying. New album 'Mind Control' will be released on April 15th, proof - if any were needed - that the best way to gain access to the doors of perception is to take a blunt instrument and keep smashing until you break on through to the other side.

An incredible psychedelic journey that will leave your mouth dry and your heart in palpitations, 'Mind Control' is preceded by new single 'Poison Tree'. A DOOM laden trip with more than a hint of Hammer Horror, this is profoundly English, profoundly inspiring stuff.

Listen to it now.

- - -

'Mind Control' is set to be released on April 15th. Tracklisting:

1. Mt. Abraxas
2. Mind Crawler
3. Poison Apple
4. Desert Ceremony
5. Evil Love
6. Death Valley Blues
7. Follow the Leader
8. Valley of the Dolls
9. Devil's Work


Follow Clash: