A brilliantly twisted back catalogue
The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Dirty Shirt Rock'n'Roll - The First Ten Years

Since forming 20 years ago, The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion have been "ripping apart roots music", picking the bones clean and injecting some radical, dirty energy into its very heart and soul.

This collection focuses on the band's first ten years/first five albums and presents a meaty cross-section of Spencer and Co's rabid concoction; one that coughs up screeching and unsettling rockabilly howls one minute ('Love Ain't On The Run', 'Hell'), and gigantic delta-blues hip-hop grooves the next ('Shake 'Em On Down'). As gratingly brash as it is funky, this is a mighty shortcut through a brilliantly twisted back catalogue.


Words by Ryan Drever

Follow Clash: