Xiu Xiu Return With Album, Tour


Xiu Xiu are set to release their new album ‘Always’ through Bella Union on February 27th.

Led by Jamie Stewart, Xiu Xiu are responsible for some of the most intimate works yet produced by American indie music. The band have released a string of provocative albums, which at times move past reading someone’s diary and simply peek through their keyhole.

Hooking up with Bella Union, Xiu Xiu are set to release their new album ‘Always’ on February 27th. Recorded last year, ‘Always’ was produced by Deerhoof’s Greg Saunier and mixed by John Congleton.

Lyrically, Jamie Stewart refuses to pull any punches – ‘Factory Girls’ follows the existence of Chinese migrant workers while ‘Joey’s Song’ was written after a personal tragedy.

Available from February 27th, Xiu Xiu are trailing their new album with opening track ‘Hi…’. Listen to the song below…

Hi by Xiu Xiu

– – –

Meanwhile, Xiu Xiu are also planning a return to the UK. Announcing several new British shows, the band will finish the tour with a London date on March 16th.

The last time the group visited the UK ClashMusic asked Jamie Stewart to keep a tour diary. Writing a number of Haiku, the series built up into a collection of fascinating vignettes from an American musician on the road.

Read the full feature HERE and then check out the full list of dates below…

Xiu Xiu are set to play the following shows:

12 Bristol The Fleece
13 Manchester The Ruby Lounge
14 Glasgow The Captain’s Rest
15 Brighton Sticky Mikes Frog Bar
16 London Rich Mix

Click here to buy tickets for Xiu Xiu!

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.