Whenyoung Announce New Album ‘Paragon Songs’

And share new single 'Unchained'...

Irish duo Whenyoung will release new album ‘Paragon Songs’ on April 7th.

The band formed over a decade ago, hinging on real-life couple Aoife Power and Andrew Flood. New album ‘Paragon Songs’ continues their evolution, and follows hot on the heels of two neat new singles.

Out on April 7th, the record was sculpted in a cottage in County Clare on the West Coast of Ireland, before being finessed in a flat on a street called Paragon on the East coast of England.

Of the new chapter, the pair comment:

“Every step is a new time in your existence and noting it down marks it, celebrates it and reveals you to yourself. These lyrics represent who I am right now or who I’ve been the past year or two. My intention is to like myself and be kinder to myself. And so I can only present myself in the state that I am currently in which is healing not healed…”

New single ‘Unchained’ is online now, a song that yearns for freedom. Broader, more confident than their previous work, it carries a massive sense of depth.

Aoife explains of the track…

“‘Unchained’ was written about a time when I was being made to feel like I was not enough as I am. I felt cramped, stunted and in turn obsessed by my weaknesses. Leaving this situation allowed me to regain my self esteem and release the defensive layer I had used for protection.”

Tune in now.


1. Shame Train
2. Rubiks Cube
3. The Laundress
4. Home Movie
5. Ghost
6. A Little Piece Of Heaven
7. Even More
8. Shed My Skin
9. Unchained
10. Gan Ainm

Photo Credit: Zac Mahrouche

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.