A vital collaboration from two distinct composers...

Vessel and Rakhi Singh have shared a new excerpt from their new work 'Written In Fire'.

The two musicians met while working on a piece for Immix Ensemble, with the pair quickly establishing a rapport.

Seb Gainsborough (Vessel) opened up his electronic meditations in a fresh way, while Rakhi Singh was afforded fresh space for her compositions.

New work 'Written In Fire' blends string quartet and electronics, and it was intended as a response to Czech composer Leos Janacek’s second string quartet, entitled Intimate Letters.

Definitely not a re-working or re-arrangement, it seizes upon the emotional instincts in the piece to become a truly emotional narrative.

Premiered last year, it will be released shortly, and will be accompanied by some performances around the country.

We're able to air the second excerpt to emerge from the piece, a crunching, daring fusion of analogue and digital that will delight fans of Koreless, Forest Swords, or Anna Meredith.

Tune in now.

See 'Written In Fire' live at the following shows:

11 London Kings Place**

5 Cardiff Royal Welsh College of Music**
7 Manchester Royal Northern College of Music**
8 Glasgow Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

** live AV from Pedro Maia

Join us on Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.

Buy Clash Magazine


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: