'Born To Sing: No Plan B' due on October 1st

Van Morrison is set to release his new album 'Born To Sing: No Plan B' through Blue Note on October 1st.

Given his life long love of jazz music, it's not surprising to see Van Morrison hook up with Blue Note. Maintaining a relationship with the revitalised label, the imprint is set to house the songwriter's new album.

'Born To Sing: No Plan B' is set to be released on October 1st, with Van Morrison working extensively with Don Was. The Northern Irish born artist commented: "With most record companies being so corporate I am happy to be working with Don Was and the team at Blue Note".

"To have such a creative music person as the head of my recording label assures me that all the effort taken to write and record this new album will be rewarded with a music based focus and marketing approach. I look forward to many recording projects with Don and Blue Note."

Don Was, meanwhile, was fulsome in his praise of the singer. “Over a career that spans 4 decades, Van Morrison has developed a body of work that is unparalleled in its consistent excellence. He is one of the greatest singer/songwriter/musicians of all time. We are incredibly honoured that he has chosen to record for the Blue Note label and look forward to many fruitful years together.”

Here's the tracklisting:

1. Open The Door (To Your Heart)
2. Going Down To Monte Carlo
3. Born To Sing
4. End Of The Rainbow
5. Close Enough For Jazz
6. Mystic Of The East
7. Retreat And View
8. If In Money We Trust
9. Pagan Heart
10. Educating Archie

Van Morrison has also confirmed a batch of UK tour dates, full list as follows:

3 Newmarket Racecourse
18 Greenman Festival
25 Dublin Marlay Park

8 Belfast Arts Festival
21 Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

14 London Grosvenor House Hotel
15 London Grosvenor House Hotel
23 Canterbury Marlowe Theatre
24 Canterbury Marlowe Theatre
28 Sligo Knocknarea Arena

27 Liverpool Philharmonic Hall
28 Manchester Bridgewater Hall

Click here to buy tickets for Van Morrison!

Follow Clash: