New sounds from the OLI stable...

Hailing from the pretty surroundings of Bath – the group formed while at university there – Kill It Kid are new, well, kids on the One Little Indian block, and said label is pretty excited by the five-piece’s potential.

The band – Richard Jones, Adam Timmins, Stephanie Ward, Marc Jones and Chris Turpin – officially came together in February of last year, after Turpin had been performing solo, occasionally with assistance from both Jones and Timmins. Soon enough John Parish (he of ‘with PJ Harvey’ fame) took an interest, and recorded the band’s first EP.

Said recording is now available officially via OLI, with further releases to follow – a single, ‘Send Me An Angel Down’, is out on May 18, preceding a full-length in the autumn. The band’s debut album has been worked on in Seattle alongside producer Ryan Hadlock, known for his work with Foo Fighters and Regina Spektor, at the same studios used by Fleet Foxes for their multi-accolade-attracting self-titled album of last year.

Our TotD is ‘Date It The Day’, the B-side to the forthcoming single release. Download the track below.


See Kill It Kid (MySpace) live as follows…

30 Derby The Rock House

1 Southampton Hamptons
3 Bandstand Busking Performance
5 Swindon The Vic
20 London The Fly
22 Brighton Concorde 2
23 Bath Moles

5 Guildford Boiler Room

9 Norwich Waterfront
16 Liverpool Zanzibar

2 Derby Y-Not Festival

- - -

Photo: Tom Barnes


Follow Clash: