Toro Y Moi Prepares Box Set

Gathering those early cuts...

Toro Y Moi has pieced together the new ‘June 2009’ box set, focussing on his early material.

Sit thee down, children, and ClashMusic will tell you a tale…

Once there were a few producers in the Untied States who made fuzzy electronic music, often utilising samples from the unfashionable end of the 80s spectrum. And lo! Chillwave was born, and a blog meme swept across the globe.

Except it wasn’t quite as simple as that. Toro Y Moi laboured for years as plain ol’ Chazz Bundick, working on material which had a slightly different flavour.

Now the producer – together with long time home Carpark – have pieced together a new boxset. Drawing primarily on a tour release, ‘June 2009’ focusses on a pivotal period in his work – when Toro Y Moi really came into being.

Available from April 23rd, ‘June 2009’ will be available on 7 inch vinyl box set / CD / digital formats. Grab ‘Dead Pontoon’ below…

– – –

Toro Y Moi is set to release ‘June 2009’ on April 23rd. Tracklisting:

Disc 1
Side A
1. Best Around
Side B
2. Take The L To Leave

Disc 2
Side A
1. Girl Problems
Side B
2. Dead Pontoon

Disc 3
Side A
1. Ektelon
Side B
2. Drive South

Disc 4
Side A
1. Sad Sams
Side B
2. Talamak (First Version)

Disc 5
Side A
1. Warm Frames
Side B
2. New Loved Ones

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.