The WAEVE Announce New Album ‘City Lights’

It features Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall...

The WAEVE reconvene for new studio album ‘City Lights’.

The duo – Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall – charmed with a self-titled album, one that played to their considerable strengths. Songwriting packed with melody, and lyrical probing, the record matching experimentation to their pop nous.

CLASH reviewer James Mellen said on its release:

Though the album seems to divebomb into a myriad of sounds and tones, there is an inherent glue that keeps the record together, ‘The WAEVE’ being a unique experience, bathed in a bold richness and brilliantly indulgent productions. 

Now The WAEVE have reconvened. New album ‘City Lights’ is out on September 20th via Transgressive, featuring 10 tracks. Available to pre-order now, the record will be released on 2LP housed in a gatefold sleeve, pressed on black vinyl, orange vinyl (exclusive to indies) and limited edition red vinyl (exclusive to Rough Trade). The record is also available on CD and digitally. 

New single ‘You Saw’ is an excellent starting point – a song that hones in on life’s finer details, it seems to reach towards optimism amid the prevailing gloom.

Graham and Rose say of the song… 

“‘You Saw’ is a song about acknowledging how seemingly tiny decisions can have a seismic impact on the course of one’s life, how sometimes it feels like the way things turn out are predestined. It’s about reconciling a past version with the new version of one’s self and being grateful for how things work out. It’s built around a rhythmic string line to reflect the sense of propulsive forward motion.”

Tune in now.

1) City Lights
2) You Saw
3) Moth To The Flame
4) I Belong To…
5) Simple Days
6) Broken Boys
7) Song For Eliza May
8) Druantia
9) Girl of the Endless Night
10) Sunrise

Related: Graham Coxon, Rose Elinor Dougall On New Collaborative Project The Waeve

Photo Credit: Kalpesh Lathigra

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.