'Raven In The Grave' due

Danish group The Raveonettes are set to release their new album 'Raven In The Grave' on April 4th.

In the beginning, The Raveonettes were a band out of time. The Danish duo mixed 60s girl group melodies with chain-saw guitars, recalling the primal early incarnation of The Jesus And Mary Chain.

Since then, though, a host of new groups have emerged with the same influences. Since 2009's 'In And Out Of Control' the likes of Vivian Girls, Crystal Stilts and more have come snapping at the duo's heels.

With their influences now de rigour, The Raveonettes are under pressure. New album 'Raven In The Grave' was recorded last year, with Sharin Woo and Sune Wagner on typically unhinged form.

The album is set to be released on April 4th, with track titles such as 'Recharge & Revolt'. Clearly not in the mood to take prisoners other songs include 'Ignite' and the outlandishly named 'War In Heaven'.

Ending with 'My Time's Up' the album contains a mere nine songs. Known for their brevity, The Raveonettes are clearly not wanting to outstay their welcome. In a statement the group said: "It's the perfect Winter soundtrack just in time for Spring. We like it in the Snow."

Currently trying to arrange a full North American tour, The Raveonettes are planning a European assault later in the year. Keep checking back for any announcement on British dates!

The Raveonettes are set to release 'Raven In The Grave' on April 4th. Tracklisting:

1. Recharge & Revolt
2. War In Heaven
3. Forget That You're Young
4. Apparitions
5. Summer Moon
6. Let Me On out
7. Ignite
8. Evil Seeds
9. My Time's Up


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: