The Pretenders press images March 24. 2022. Photographs Ki Price

The Pretenders Share New Single ‘A Love’

It dips into their classic sound...

The Pretenders have shared new single ‘A Love’.

The band are riding the crest of a wave right now, following a triumphant Glastonbury set. Joined by an array of special guests at the Park Stage – Johnny Marr and Dave Grohl, while Sir Paul McCartney watched from the side – The Pretenders won fans at Worthy Farm and at home.

New album ‘Relentless’ is out on September 15th, and the group are preparing for an extensive spell supporting Guns N’ Roses at stadiums across North America.

New single ‘A Love’ taps into their classic sound – Chrissie Hynde remains a peerless vocalist, the epitome of rock star cool, while the arrangement remodels that new wave sound from a fresh perspective.

Chrissie comments…

“I suppose that’s the most traditionally Pretenders-sounding song on the album, in the vein of ‘Kid’ or ‘Talk of the Town’ or any of the mid tempo ones over the years. I often see love / relationships almost in the same vein as drug addiction. Although, having said that, I know I am jaded, and cynical… ‘The Buzz’ on Hate for Sale visited the same theme.” 

Tune in now.

‘Relentless’ Tracklist

1.      Losing My Sense Of Taste
2.      A Love
3.      Domestic Silence
4.      The Copa
5.      Promise Of Love
6.      Merry Widow
7.      Let The Sun Come In
8.      Look Away
9.      Your House Is On Fire
10.   Just Let It Go
11.   Vainglorious
12.   I Think About You Daily

Photo Credit: Ki Price

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.