The Hives Launch New Album ‘The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons’

"You can't fake that shit..."

Swedish garage rock iconoclasts The Hives will return with a new album this year.

The incoming LP is the band’s first in a decade, and it comes 30 years after their formation at the behest of the fabled Randy Fitzsimmons. The potentially fictionally Svengali behind The Hives, he’s also referenced in the title of their new album – and sadly for Randy, the game is over.

New album ‘The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons’ is out on August 11th, a 12 track garage punk bloodbath. Howlin’ Pelle comments…

“There’s no maturity or anything like that bullshit, because who the fuck wants mature rock ’n’ roll? That’s always where people go wrong, I feel. ‘It’s like rock’n’roll but adult,’ nobody wants that! That’s literally taking the good shit out of it. Rock ’n’ roll can’t grow up, it is a perpetual teenager and this album feels exactly like that, which it’s all down to our excitement – and you can’t fake that shit.”

Good point, well made. Lead single ‘Bogus Operandi’ is a belch of rock ‘n’ roll thrills, with The Hives channelling ‘Raw Power’ in the process.

Aube Perrie directs the video, with production from Pulse Films – stylish and gory, it’s only now.

One final point: in New York or Los Angeles this month? The Hives are playing some tiny underplay shows.

1. Bogus Operandi
2. Trapdoor Solution
3. Countdown To Shutdown
4. Rigor Mortis Radio
5. Stick Up
6. Smoke & Mirrors
7. Crash Into The Weekend
8. Two Kinds Of Trouble
9. The Way The Story Goes
10. The Bomb
11. What Did I Ever Do To You?
12. Step Out Of The Way

Photo Credit: Bisse Bengtsson

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.