The Clockworks Launch New Album ‘Exit Strategy’

A daring semi-autobiographical work...

The Clockworks will release their long-awaited debut album ‘Exit Strategy’ on November 10th.

The band have driven themselves to huge heights, touring relentlessly and releasing a string of anthemic singles. Moving from Galway to London in search of their dream, work began last year on the group’s debut album.

Bernard Butler steps in as producer, with sessions taking place at Abbey Road Studios and Love Electric Studios. New album ‘Exit Strategy’ lands on November 10th, a loosely autobiographical work with two sides – Galway and London.

New single ‘Westway’ guides you into their realm, and it’s actually the album’s final song – citing Goodfellas as an influence in terms of the narrative structure, The Clockworks channel aspects of Motown’s 60s innocence in their songwriting.

Singer James McGregor says…

We were inspired by the writing and production of ‘50s Doo-wop, Phil Spector and Motown. Westway is the album’s final track, so we are beginning the album’s story with the last scene in the same way that some of the great films, like Goodfellas, begin at the end.” 

Tune in now.


Side A – Galway
1 Deaths and Entrances
2 Bills and Bills
3 Mayday Mayday
4 Enough is Never Enough
5 Hall of Fame
6 Car Song
7 Danny’s Working Like a Dog

Side B – London
8 Feels So Real
9 Advertise Me
10 Modern City Living (All We Are)
11 Life in a Day
12 Lost in the Moment
13 Westway

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.