The Charlatans Announce New Album ‘Different Days’

Featuring Johnny Marr, Paul Weller, Ian Rankin, and more...

The Charlatans have announced plans for new album 'Different Days' – featuring a plethora of guests.

The band sadly lost drummer Jon Brookes in 2013, with Pete Salisbury – the former Verve drummer – stepping in on a full-time basis.

The move sparked a new idea, though, with The Charlatans deciding to open themselves up, and recruit a few friends for new studio sessions.

New album 'Different Days' is the result. Anton Newcombe contributes, while Smiths guitarist and all-round music legend Johnny Marr plays on three tracks.

Crime writer Ian Rankin and Kurt Wagner offer spoken word parts, while writer/actress Sharon Horgan sings backing vocals on title track 'Different Days'.

A long-promised collaboration with Paul Weller finally took place, resulting in expansive album finale 'Spinning Out'.

'Different Days' will be released on May 26th (pre-order LINK). Tracklisting:

Hey Sunrise (Drums Pete Salisbury, Programming Stephen Morris)
Solutions (Drums Stephen Morris BV's Nik Void)
Different Days (Guitar Johnny Marr, BV's Sharon Horgan)
Future Tense (Spoken word intro Ian Rankin)
Plastic Machinery (Guitar Johnny Marr & Anton Newcombe)
The Forgotten One (Spoken word intro Kurt Wagner)
Not Forgotten (Guitar Johnny Marr, Organ Anton Newcombe)
There Will Be Chances (Drums Pete Salisbury)
The Same House (Synthesiser Gillian Gilbert, Drums & Programming Stephen Morris)
Over Again (Percussion Donald Johnson (A Certain Ratio)
BV's Nik Void (Factory Floor)
Lets Go Together (Drums Pete Salisbury)
The Setting Sun – Instrumental
Spinning Out (Co written by Weller. Piano and BV's Paul Weller)

Buy Clash Magazine

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.