The Bug Prepare New EP

Including Autechre remix...

Dubstep project The Bug is set to return with the release of their stellar new EP ‘Infected’.

Kevin Martin is one of the most noted figures in bass music, using a vast variety of pseudonyms to cover his varied projects. Using the name The Bug, his productions have become synonymous with dark, intense electronica.

Releasing their debut album ‘London Zoo’ back in 2008, The Bug’s productions helped push dubstep into new directions. Leaving behind the moniker to work on King Midas Sound last year, Kevin Martin is set to return once more to ‘London Zoo’.

The Bug will be re-activated on the new EP ‘Infected’. The double 12 inch pack aims to be a bridging point between ‘London Zoo’ and the producer’s forthcoming dub battle with Adrian Sherwood.

The new EP is a little lighter than the debut album, but ‘Infected’ retains moments of intense paranoia. Kevin Martin re-unites with King Midas Sound vocalist Hitomi on ‘Catch A Fire’ while classic track ‘Skeng’ is re-worked into a hyper-real protest song.

‘Catch A Fire’ is something of a collaborative effort, featuring Justin Broadrick providing a guitar drop. Re-uniting two old friends, Martin and Broadrick also worked on the infamous Techno Animals project.

‘Waiting For You’ is a dark dub effort, while ‘Tune In’ is a mutant inversion of ‘Poison Dart’ featuring Roots Manuva. The MC adds some toasting, to lighten the stomach churning bass assault.

The second 12 inch features a number of remixes, including efforts from Autechre and Rinse FM’s breakfast show host Scratcha DVA. Giving The Bug a funky work out, the remixes shed new light on Kevin Martin’s ongoing project.

The Bug are set to release ‘Infected EP’ on October 15th. Tracklisting:

1) Catch A Fire feat Hitomi
2) Tune In feat Roots Manuva
3) Skeng (Autchre Remix)
4) Poison Dart (Scratcha DVA Remix)

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.