Tama Gucci Announces Debut Album ‘Notes To Self’

Watch the quirky games-inspired video for new single, 'Runaway Pup'...

Miami-raised, New York-based singer, producer and DJ Tama Gucci has announced his long-awaited debut album, ‘Notes To Self’, out August 16th via Sinderlyn.

‘Notes To Self’ is a collection of journal entries and anecdotes fortified “by late-night, weed smoke-glazed recording sessions.” ‘Notes To Self’ sees Gucci embrace his unabashedly romantic side, centering self-worth and happiness, whilst gleaning wisdom from past misdemeanors. The albums roves between stark, confessional reveries, and angular RnB and club dirges. For the first time in his career, Gucci opened his inner sanctum to guest contributors; NYC producer Cassius Cruz features on ‘No More ‘I Love You’s’, ambient pop artist Colle enhanced ‘You Lost Me’, and Australian multi-hyphenate Jack Slade produced a pair of forward-facing pop tracks. 

Following the fluttering ambient coda ‘You Lost Me‘, and glacial, trap-inspired number ‘Only Smoke Trees‘, Gucci shares brooding pop-bunk ballad ‘Runaway Pup’, which comes with a cinematic visual directed by longtime collaborator Jonathan Qualter.

Of the visual experience, Tama Gucci says: “This video was so fun to make! We reference ‘Funny Games’ – one of my favorite movies ever, by one of my favorite directors, Michael Haneke… I was challenging myself to create something just as cool with the best team behind me. It was very rewarding to see this come to life!”

Notes To SelfTrack List:

1. Good Morning Babe

2. Out Of The Loop

3. Runaway Pup

4. No More “I Love You’s” (feat. Cassius Cruz)

5. Didn’t Have To

6. Stalk Me 151 To 170

7. Wanna Know You

8. At The Moon

9. Only Smoke Trees

10. See You Later

11. Back Then

12. You Lost Me (feat. Colle)

Photo Credit: Jonathan Qualtere & Emilio Tamez

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.