Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album ‘Javelin’

New single 'So You Are Tired' is out now...

Sufjan Stevens will release new album ‘Javelin’ on October 6th.

The new album is the songwriter’s first since 2020 album ‘The Ascension’, and lands later this year. A 10-track construction, help comes from Sufjan’s close friends – adrienne maree brownHannah CohenPauline DelassusMegan Luiand Nedelle Torrisi assist on harmonies.

The National’s Bryce Dessner plays acoustic and electronic guitar on ‘Shit Talk’, while finale ‘There’s A World’ was originally penned by Neil Young.

Hushed new song ‘So You Are Tired’ is online now, a pensive, utterly beautiful return that puts you in mind of his 2015 statement ‘Carrie & Lowell’.

Alongside the release, Sufjan Stevens have constructed a 48-page book of art and essays, boasting imaginative visual work and 10 short essays paired to the songs themselves.

Order ‘Javelin’ online now.

Tune in now.


1. Goodbye Evergreen 
2. A Running Start 
3. Will Anybody Ever Love Me? 
4. Everything That Rises 
5. Genuflecting Ghost 
6. My Red Little Fox 
7. So You Are Tired 
8. Javelin (To Have And To Hold) 
9. Shit Talk 
10. There’s A World

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.