Sturgill Simpson Confirms New Album… Under A New Name!

Please welcome, Johnny Blue Skies...

American songwriter Sturgill Simpson has confirmed new material is on the way.

The singer released four albums under his own name, moving from indie and Americana into the broader country sphere. His 2014 album ‘Metamodern Sounds In Country Music’ was a breakout success, with Sturgill revisiting the record for a 10th anniversary re-issue last month.

Now he’s back, with a new album, and a fresh moniker. Johnny Blue Skies is the fulcrum for his artistic endeavours, with new album ‘Passage Du Desir’ slated to land on July 12th.

Ushered into the world via his own independent label, High Top Mountain Records, it features eight tracks.

Pre-order the album here.


  1. Swamp of Sadness
  2. If The Sun Never Rises Again
  3. Scooter Blues
  4. Jupiter’s Faerie
  5. Who I Am
  6. Right Kind of Dream
  7. Mint Tea 
  8. One for the Road

Photo Credit: Semi Song

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.