Speedy Ortiz Announces New Album ‘Rabbit Rabbit’

Their first in over five years...

American indie rock group Speedy Ortiz will release new album ‘Rabbit Rabbit’ on September 1st.

The new album is the band’s first in five years, and it spearheaded by Sadie Dupuis (songwriter, vox, guitar) and Andy Molholt (guitar). Alongside this, longtime touring members Audrey Zee Whitesides (bass) and Joey Doubek (drums) have been added to the fold as full-time collaborators.

The new record lands on September 1st, and ‘Rabbit Rabbit’ will be released through Dupuis’ own label, Wax Nine. A 13-tracker, its led by new single ‘You S02’ with its wailing, discordant solos and Elle Schneider-directed, John Carpenter-referencing video.

Sadie Dupuis explains…

“Mostly when I’ve met my musical heroes, they’re kind and principled people. But occasionally someone whose work I love(d) reveals themselves to be anti-union, or anti-’woke,’ or some other gear-grinding ugliness. That’s who I wrote ‘You S02’ about, the song’s frenzied guitar and synth solos mirroring the crazy-making intensity wafting off people who act like that…”

“In the TV show You’s second season, the main character moves from New York to LA in hopes of a fresh start, but (spoiler) remains a murdering psychopath. Changing cities won’t make you a hero if you still treat others badly.” 

Tune in now.

Track list

  1. Kim Cattrall
  2. You S02
  3. Scabs
  4. Plus One
  5. Cry Cry Cry
  6. Ballad of Y&S
  7. Kitty
  8. Who’s Afraid of the Bath
  9. Ranch vs. Ranch
  10. Emergency & Me
  11. The Sunday
  12. Brace Thee
  13. Ghostwriter

Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.