'Wanderlust' due for release on January 20th

Sophie Ellis-Bextor is set to release her new album 'Wanderlust' - check out a preview below.

Sophie Ellis-Bextor knows what she's doing. A true pop star, she seems to have that knack, that peculiar sense for knowing the right thing to do at the right time.

Heading back into the studio earlier this year, Sophie Ellis-Bextor decided that time was of the essence. Working with Ed Harcourt, the pair laid down a series of tracks across a whirlwind two weeks period. 

The results will be gathered on new album 'Wanderlust'. At times simple and sparse, the material can also billow out into dramatic arrangements, fuelled by a steady stream of guests to their studio.

Speaking about the material, Sophie Ellis-Bextor said: "The album is about roaming and your sense of where you come from, and how you take home with you but you also have this desire to get out there and see the world. I found making this album really empowering. I felt like after ten years of making records, this is like the biggest present to myself. I'm really proud of it and I feel really excited."

Check out a preview for 'Wanderlust' below.

'Wanderlust' is set to be released on January 20th. Tracklisting:

Birth of an Empire
Until the Stars Collide
The Deer & the Wolf
Young Blood
13 Little Dolls
Wrong Side of the Sun
Love Is a Camera
Cry To the Beat of the Band
When the Storm Has Blown Over

The latest issue of Clash Magazine is available to purchase online - click HERE for details.


Follow Clash: