Song By Toad Confirms Final Release

It's an all-Canadian special...

Edinburgh based label Song By Toad has confirmed plans for its final release.

The label was founded just over a decade ago, and has developed a reputation for curating all manner of fine releases, sessions, and live events.

Deciding to shutter following a 10th anniversary party last year, founder Matthew Young intends to go out with one final 12 inch release.

The split record is an all-Canadian special, featuring 12 songs on a 12 inch record – three songs each from Dana Gavanski, Woodpigeon, LT Leif, and FOONYAP.

He explains: “My Dad was born and raised in Montreal, so making an all-Canadian Split 12” just seemed too appealing to shy away from. When I was a kid we’d go and visit the Canadian side of the family, and my Dad and I would always go into a music shop to buy something new for the inevitably epic long-distance drives.”

“I remember being fascinated that Canadian releases had a wee red maple leaf sticker in the top corner so you’d know they were local. The idea of having a release of our own with that wee maple leaf in the corner is really nice to think about.”

Order the record HERE.

1. Dana Gavanski – How Long Has it Been
2. Woodpigeon – The City is Mine
3. LT Leif – White Birds
4. FOONYAP – Aram
5. Dana Gavanski – Little Bird
6. Woodpigeon – Postcard From a Posh Man
7. FOONYAP – Yes/No
8. LT Leif – No Birds
9. Woodpigeon – He Follows Me
10. FOONYAP – Mara
11. Dana Gavanski – Your Own Time
12. LT Leif – Hard Time

Join us on Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.

Buy Clash Magazine

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.