Smoke Fairies Announce New Album ‘Wild Winter’

Inspiring by mid-winter...

Smoke Fairies are set to release new album 'Wild Winter' on November 20th.

Mid-winter has a peculiar atmosphere, a taste or flavour that other points of the year seem to lack. It's something Smoke Fairies have been drawn to, and something that fuels their next statement.

New album 'Wild Winter' arrives on November 20th, with the collective drawing inspiration from the year's darkest, most barren months. Smoke Fairies explain:

"We have a love/hate relationship with winter and the Christmas holiday. When it was suggested Smoke Fairies make a Christmas album, the last thing we wanted to do was make a classic, jolly, celebratory album that can only be played once a year. Sometimes winter provides us with a sense of togetherness and love, and sometimes it leaves us feeling alienated, cold and playing a glockenspiel alone in a darkened room. It's part of the year that will always be bittersweet and wild. This was the inspiration behind the record."

Produced by Kristofer Harris at Squarehead Studio in the Kentish countryside, the album even contains a Beefheart cover. Check out the title cut below:

'Wild Winter' is due to be released on November 20th. Tracklisting:

1. Christmas Without A Kiss
2. Steal Softly Thru Snow
3. 3 Kings
4. Give and Receive
5. Circles in The Snow
6. Bad Good
7. Wild Winter
8. Snowglobe Blizzard
9. So Much Wine
10. All Up In The Air

Buy Clash Magazine

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.