slowthai Announces New Album ‘UGLY’; Shares Single ‘Selfish’

He's back.

slowthai will release new album ‘UGLY’ on March 3rd.

The Northampton rapper won a Mercury nomination with his incendiary debut ‘Nothing Great About Britain’, a brutal fusion of grime, hip-hop, punk, and more. Follow-up record ‘Tyron’ took things deeper, a double LP that offered searing autobiography.

Since then, he’s collaborated with Gorillaz and toured the world, before returning to Northampton to gather his thoughts.

slowthai Announces New Album ‘UGLY’; Shares Single ‘Selfish’

Third album ‘UGLY’ is out on March 3rd, with the letters standing for ‘U Gotta Love Yourself’. Discussing the project, he comments:

The first album was the sound of where I’m from and everything I thought I knew. The second album is what was relevant to me at that moment in time, the present. And this album is completely me — about how I feel and what I want to be… it’s everything I’ve been leading up to.”

Produced by Dan Carey in South London, ‘UGLY’ features a fluid cast of musicians including Ethan P. Flynn, Jockstrap’s Taylor Skye, Beabadoobee guitarist Jacob Bugden, drummer Liam Toon, and on the title track, his friends Fontaines D.C.

New single ‘selfish’ is online now, an incredible belch of noise that could only come from one artist right now – tune in below.

Feel Good
Never Again
Fuck It Puppet
Wotz funny
25% Club

Photo Credit: George Muncey

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.