Photo: © Pete Millson 2022. 07768 077353 -- 29 October 2022.

Silver Moth – ft. Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite, Elisabeth Elektra – Confirm Debut LP

It's out in April...

New collective Silver Moth have laid out plans for debut album ‘Black Bay’.

The group features a plethora of familiar faces, brought together by a social media exchange. Glasgow musician Elisabeth Elektra and Abrasive Teees’ guitarist/songwriter Matthew Rochford started taking about the Isle of Lewis, and this led to a desire to do something creative on the Hebridean island.

Other voices were drawn into their orbit, including Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, Steven Hill, and more. Working from the dramatic location of Black Bay Studios on the Isle of Lewis, the collective worked with alacrity, completing an album in just four days.

Open, easy-going creativity abounds, with Bella Union set to release debut album ‘Black Bay’ – named after the studio itself – on April 21st.

 “I knew with everything in me that we could make something powerful, beautiful, celestial and driven,” says Evi, “even though we had never met. We spend our lives in repetition, surrounded by certainty. It’s important to push aside the things we think we understand, because when we least expect it, change comes and we are lost.”

Ahead of its release, Silver Moth have shared hypnotic new song ‘Mother Tongue’. Primarily written by Elisabeth and Evi, the lyrics are a paean to feminine power, citing “need to reclaim and remember and give voice to those who are silenced”. 

Check out ‘Mother Tongue’ below.

1. Henry
2. The Eternal
3. Mother Tongue
4. Gaelic Psalms
5. Hello Doom
6. Sedna

Photo Credit: Pete Millson

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.