Innovative project confirmed

Sebastian Rochford and Pamelia Kurstin have teamed up to record new album 'Ouch Evil Slow Slow Hop'.

Sebastian Rochford is one of Britain's foremost improvisatory musicians. An acclaimed jazz drummer, the percussionist is the lynchpin of both Mercury nominated collective Polar Bear and Acoustic Ladyland.

Always eager to explore new forms of music, Brighton's LOOP Festival put Sebastian Rochford in a room with Pamelia Kurstin. A theremin player, Kurstin strips the instrument of its novelty reputation to work on out there electronics.

Deciding to continue the partnership, the pair headed into the studio where they recorded a series of lengthy jams.

Editing together the parts into coherent pieces, Sebastian Rochford and Pamelida Kurstin then handed the tracks over to Adrian Utley. The Portishead figure mixed the final album, adding a sense of dynamics to the occasion.

Titled 'Ouch Evil Slow Slow Hop' the album will be released on June 13th. Slowfoot Records are set to handle the release, which is already causing numerous puzzled faces amongst observers.

Partly influenced by jazz, the free rhythms and scorched electronics are more reminiscent of the more outré aspects of the Aphex Twin back catalogue.

Fancy a preview? Stream 'Ouch (I)' below...

Sebastian Rochford/Pamelia Kurstin - Ouch (I) by Slowfoot Records

- - -

Sebastian Rochford and Pamelia Kurstin are set to release 'Ouch Evil Slow Hop' on June 13th.

Follow Clash: