Ruel Announces Debut Album ‘4th Wall’

New single 'MUST BE NICE' is out now...

Ruel will release his debut album ‘4th Wall’ on March 3rd.

The British-born, Australian-raised songwriter has found incredible success across three EPs, building a slim but potent pop catalogue in the process. Taking time out to reconfigure his ambitions, Ruel is back again – this time with details of his long-awaited debut album.

Still only 20 years old, the pop polymath surges into fresh arenas on this debut LP, with ‘4th Wall’ set to land on March 3rd. Ahead of this, new single ‘MUST BE NICE’ is online, and it finds Ruel laying down a marker for others to follow.

Written alongside M-Phazes and TMS Production Team, songwriter Sean Douglas was also on hand to assist in the studio. The vision, however, remains Ruel’s own – he comments…

“’MUST BE NICE’ is the first time I’ve ever released a ballad as a single, and it would have to be one of my favourite tracks on the record. Lyrically it’s such an easy song to grasp, essentially, it’s just about a break up. But I wanted to take a step back and try and give it a new perspective. All break ups are difficult in their own way, but when you see the other person getting on with their life, it hits so much harder. I feel like the lyric ‘fuck it must be nice’ captures that perfectly.”

A tender and true piece of songwriting, ‘MUST BE NICE’ finds Ruel coming of age – tune in now.

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.