With Elvis Costello, Djs and Pacmen

The Royal Scottish National Orchestra has announced three very special collaborations happening in June at Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall for their 'orchestra+' project.

The first is entitled 'Concerto for Turntables' and sees the Orchestra joined by Gabriel Prokofiev and DJ Beni G to combine the might of the orchestra with modern sound of dance and hip hop music.

The second event sees the RSNO backing Elvis Costello on a set spanning his Thirty year plus career including 'Accidents Will Happen', 'Shipbuilding' and 'God Give Me Strength', while the RSNO will also perform extracts from Costello’s first orchestral work 'II Sogno' (The Dream).

The third event is Video Games Live and will see the Orchestra perform music from classic video games to synchronised visuals and lighting and is the first time Video Games Live will be performed in Scotland.

The full details of the events are

Concerto for Turntables
Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
Thursday 19 June 2008, 8.00pm
Turntables: Beni G (Mixologists)
Tickets: £12 (includes aftershow party); U26s £5 with RSNO U26 card

Elvis Costello with the RSNO
Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
Saturday 21 June 2008, 7.30pm
Conductor: Clark Rundell
Tickets: £35 + concessions

Video Games Live
Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
Thursday 26 June 2008, 7.30pm
Conductor: Jack Wall
Presenter: Tommy Tallarico
RSNO Chorus
Tickets: £32/£25/£19.50 with f-t students/U16s half price

Tickets are available from the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall and from the RSNO's website.

Follow Clash:

Read more about...