Royal Blood Announce New Album ‘Back To The Water Below’

New single 'Mountains At Midnight' is out now...

Royal Blood will release new album ‘Back To The Water Below’ on September 8th.

The rock duo are back, and will play a high profile set at BBC Radio 1’s Big Weekend in Dundee this weekend. Unveiling new material, Royal Blood have laid out plans for their fourth studio album.

Propelled forward by words of advice from Rick Rubin, the band stepped back into the studio last year to sculpt a follow up to 2021’s ‘Typhoons’.

Out on September 8th, the new record finds Royal Blood allowing their creativity to flow. Ben Thatcher comments:

“I think this record was about letting the ideas take us where they needed to go. If there was a song that was calling us to do something that wasn’t typically what we’re known for, that’s where we’re going to go. The songs are in charge and if that means having a record that’s quite varied that’s what we’re going to go for, rather than trying to shoehorn everything into the same world. As a result, we’ve made a record that’s a bit of a rollercoaster. It’s everything we could do.”

Band mate Mike Kerr adds:

“No-one saw the years of us playing in loads of bands to no-one, that all gets swept under the carpet because the other story is magical and much more wondrous. Luck is where passion meets opportunity. We got our golden ticket and walked out as tiny ninjas. We were in the right place at the right time, and we have to remember to give ourselves the credit that we didn’t get into this position by winning a quiz show, we put in a serious amount of work. It’s taken us four albums to realise this isn’t luck, we’re good and we’re committed to this.”  

New single ‘Mountains At Midnight’ is a bold, feral return to their roots, fusing together rock heft, low-end swagger, and mighty electronics. A kind of interstellar pop song placed in a rock context, it’s Royal Blood at their best. 

Tune in now.


  1. ‘Mountains At Midnight’
  2. ‘Shiner In The Dark’
  3. ‘Pull Me Through’ 
  4. ‘The Firing Line’
  5. ‘Tell Me When It’s Too Late’ 
  6. ‘Triggers’
  7. ‘How Many More Times’
  8. ‘High Waters’
  9. ‘There Goes My Cool’
  10. ‘Waves’

Deluxe Edition 7” single bonus tracks:

  1. ‘Supermodel Avalanches’
  2. ‘Everything’s Fine’

Photo Credit: Tom Beard

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.