Richard Thompson Announces New Album ‘Ship To Shore’

It's out on May 31st...

Legendary songwriter Richard Thompson will release new album ‘Ship To Shore’ on May 31st.

The new album follows his 2018 set ’13 Rivers’, which won outstanding acclaim. Touring extensively in the aftermath of its release, the pandemic afforded Richard Thompson space to complete his memoir, the excellent Beeswing: Losing My Way and Finding My Voice 1967-1975.

Out on May 31st, ‘Ship To Shore’ was largely tracked across the space of a week in upstate New York. Joined by his long-time band — guitarist Bobby Eichorn, bassist Taras Prodaniuk, and drummer Michael Jerome — Richard Thompson worked from a studio in Woodstock.

New single ‘Singapore Sadie’ is out now, his crisp, clean guitar tone immediately recognisable. There’s a maritime sway to the song, joined by harmony vocalist Zara Phillips, and fiddle from David Mansfield.

Richard Thompson comments…

“I have been playing this live over the past year or so and it has become a favourite. We recorded it really quickly in two or three takes and David Mansfield is featured on the fiddle.”  

Tune in now.

1. Freeze 
2. The Fear Never Leaves You 
3. Singapore Sadie
4. Trust  
5. The Day That I Give In 
6. The Old Pack Mule  
7. Turnstile Casanova  
8. Lost In The Crowd  
9. Maybe 
10. Life’s A Bloody Show 
11. What’s Left To Lose  
12. We Roll 

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.