Richard Hawley Announces New Career-Spanning Collection

A 36-track deep-dive...

Richard Hawley has confirmed plans for a new career-spanning solo collection.

The Sheffield songwriter is a singular voice in British music, melding together indie tropes, lush arrangements, pre-rock ‘n’ roll influences, and a desire for creative independence. Across 20 years he’s notched up awards galore, and numerous critical plaudits, all while walking his own devoutly idiosyncratic path.

New compilation ‘Now Then: The Very Best Of Richard Hawley’ is a 36-track deep-dive into his catalogue, ranging from those cult early albums to his commercial breakthrough and beyond.

Alongside this, Richard Hawley has gathered a couple of rarities. Fans can expect his ultra-raw take on Bob Dylan’s ‘Ballad Of A Thin Man’, recorded for the finale of season five of Peaky Blinders back in 2019.

Alongside this, there’s his recently re-recorded take on ‘Not The Only Road’, part of the soundtrack of the Full Monty TV series.  

Check it out below.


CD 1 

1. Open Up Your Door   
2. Midnight Train   
3. Tonight the Streets Are Ours   
4. Coles Corner   
5. Ballad of a Thin Man (Full Version)   
6. Baby, You’re My Light   
7. She Brings The Sunlight   
8. Not The Only Road {unreleased}   
9. Which Way   
10. My Little Treasures   
11. Naked In Pitsmoor   
12. Standing At the Sky’s Edge   
13. Long Black Train   
14. Heart of Oak   
15. You Don’t Miss Your Water (Till Your River Runs Dry)  
16. The Ocean            

CD 2 
1. Don’t Stare at the Sun   
2. I Still Want You   
3. Off My Mind   
4. For Your Lover Give Some Time   
5. Just Like The Rain   
6. I’m On Nights   
7. Seek It   
8. Serious   
9. Precious Sight   
10. Remorse Code   
11. Alone   
12. Born Under a Bad Sign   
13. Our Darkness   
14. Run For Me   
15. Coming Home   
16. There’s a Storm a’Comin’   

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.