Featuring Brandy samples and a poem...

Machinedrum seems to be in the middle of a creative spell.

Last year's full length 'Vapor City' found Travis Stewart utilising juke and footwork as influences, upping the tempo and ploughing straight towards the future.

Since then, the producer has found time to release a companion EP and play countless shows across the globe. In spite of this hectic schedule, though, the American artist has managed to smuggle out another 'Vapor City' B-side.

Premiering today (June 3rd) on Clash, 'Hazel Ash' is a beautifully low-key, pared down return. The soulful vocal samples are snippets of Brandy's work, while the more keen-eared amongst you might just spot a ten year old recording of Travis Stewart - reciting a poem titled 'Hazel Ash'.

Oddly moving, you can check it out below.

Machinedrum has also confirmed plans for the 'Vapor City' European tour - dates as follows:  

6 Rome, Italy Bibliotechina*
7 Nottingham, England Detonate Festival*
12 Barcelona, Spain Sonar Festival*
28 Glastonbury, England Glastonbury Festival*

7 Brest, France Astropolis Festival
19 Dour, Belgium Dour Festival

3 Paris, France Alterpaname
8 Goteborg, Sweden Way Out West Festival
9 Copenhagen, Denmark Vega
10 Helsinki, Finland Flow Festival
15 London, England Fabric 

(*Vapor City Live)

Related: Talking To Travis: Clash Meets Machinedrum

Buy Clash Magazine
Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Follow Clash: