Placebo Album Details

Goth rockers return

Cult goth rockin’ trio Placebo have revealed more details of their forthcoming album ‘Battle For The Sun’.

Placebo formed against the backdrop of outright laddism that dominated the Britpop movement. If you were a guy who liked lager and football you were in – anyone else was thrust to the sidelines.

Led by the gender bending figure of Brian Molko, Placebo mixed glam with punk and gained an immediate cult following. Early hits such as ‘Nancy Boy’ remain remarkable slices of teenage angst, but the group are still recording vital chunks of rock.

Now containing Molko with bassist Stefan Olsdal and drummer Steve Forrest the band have not released a studio album since 2006. Forthcoming release ‘Battle For The Sun’ is one of Placebo’s most ambitious works to date, with singer Brian Molko telling fans in a statement:

“I believe ‘Battle’ to be the first of our albums to tell a story over the course of its 52 minutes. Our previous releases were really only collections of songs and even though the songs are ordered according to the musical flow, I hope that if you listen hard enough to the words that some kind of discernible thematic unity will begin to emerge.”

A thrilling blast of energy, ‘Battle For The Sun’ finds Placebo growing old disgracefully. Their sixth studio album, the band show no signs of slowing down.

Placebo are due to release their new album ‘Battle For The Sun’ on June 8th. Tracklisting is as follows:

1. Kitty Litter
2. Ashtray Heart
3. Battle For The Sun
4. For What It’s Worth
5. Devil In The Details
6. Bright Lights
7. Speak In Tongues
8. The Never – Ending Why
9. Julien
10. Happy You’re Gone
11. Breathe Underwater
12. Come Undone
13. Kings Of Medicine

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.