Pale Blue Eyes Launch Second Album ‘This House’

It's out on September 1st...

Pale Blue Eyes will release second album ‘This House’ on September 1st.

The Devon group meld together charming jangle-pop with Krautrock aspects, resulting in something bewitching. The trio’s debut album was a word of mouth success, propelled by some thrilling live shows and rave reviews.

Now they’re back. New album ‘This House’ is about grief, focussing on the stages that follow the loss of a parent. It’s about adulthood and responsibility, and learning to build forward paths, even when the darkness is looming.

“When Mum died, five years after Dad, there was this charge hanging in the air, connecting each person in the room,” says Matt. “Time stopped. I felt like I momentarily entered an alternative dimension between life and death. Days and weeks later I’d see my family in every corner of the house – all the reminders, ghosts and memories. Then, gradually, it felt like time for a new start, moving on from the house and my amazing parents.”

New song ‘Takes Me Over’ is a riveting offering, the Neu!-esque rhythms charging headlong into the distance. There’s also something delicious English about the song, reminiscent of everyone from Robert Wyatt to Teleman.

“Change is inevitable,” Matt adds. “You have to embrace it all, the good and bad, and the horribly ugly.”

Set to play festivals across the UK this summer, Pale Blue Eyes have also outlined in-stores and full headline performances for the album launch.

Check out ‘Takes Me Over’ below.

1. More
2. Simmering
3. Hang Out
4. Spaces
5. Heating’s On
6. Our History
7. A Million Times Over
8. Illuminated
9. Sister
10. Takes Me Over
11. Underwater

Photo Credit: Sophie Jouvenaar

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.