Our Girl Announce New Album ‘The Good Kind’

It's out on November 8th...

Our Girl have confirmed plans for new album ‘The Good Kind’.

The three-piece shared their debut album ‘Stranger Today’ back in 2018, earning admiring glances in the process. Thought-provoking indie rock, the band’s live shows displayed a group truly coming into their own.

Recently inking a new deal with revered British imprint Bella Union, Our Girl launched their next chapter with the single ‘Relief’.

Now they’re ready to take another step forwards. New album ‘The Good Kind’ will be released on November 8th, following sessions at Rockfield Studios alongside legendary figure John Parish.

Fern Ford also worked on production, while the band’s own Soph Nathan assisted in bringing the album to light.

New song ‘Something About Me Being A Woman’ leads into the project as a whole, and the lyrics chew over a comment from an acquaintance – at best it was “just bad timing” and, at worst, it was brazen misogyny.

Soph Nathan takes this to a different place, and the sighing exhalation seems to let that negative energy pass through her, allowing the song to become a space for resistance, and independence.

She comments…

“This song felt like the perfect place to put a lot of frustration after running out of patience with someone who wasn’t treating me very well. I think it’s important to give people the benefit of the doubt, but in this case it went too far, and I got tired of dealing with someone else’s preconceptions, and how they think they’re entitled to treat me. A big theme of this album is making the best of things. It’s a loving record, but in this song I just wanted to let the frustration out…”

Tune in now.

1. It’ll Be Fine
2. What You Told Me
3. Who Do You Love
4. The Good Kind
5. Something About Me Being A Woman
6. Relief
7. Unlike Anything
8. Something Exciting
9. I Don’t Mind
10. Sister
11. Absences

Photo Credit: Katie Silvester

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.