Controversial album to given deluxe treatment...

Oasis are set to re-issue their 1997 album 'Be Here Now'.

The record stands as one of the most divisive releases of the 90s: insanely popular on its release, the hype quickly turned to empty hubris, with fans turning on the release.

Looking back, it's a record unlike any other: the most popular band of their era freed from any constraints... a epic bloated in size, scale, and delivery.

'Be Here Now' will be re-issued on October 7th by Big Brother Recordings, part of the 'Oasis Chasing The Sun: 1993-1997' series.

Amongst the extras are the Unreleased Mustique Demos, radio broadcasts, live recordings, B-sides, and more. Noel Gallagher was initially tempted to remix the entire album, but only got as far as lead single 'D'You Know What I Mean?.

Noel explains: "As the years went by I'd started to accept that the songs on 'Be Here Now' were in fact insanely long... too long! Someone (I can't remember who) had the idea that we re-visit, re-edit the entire album for posterity's sake. We got as far as the first track before we couldn't be arsed anymore and gave up....it does sound fucking mega though!"

Check it out below.

'Be Here Now' will be released on October 7th. Tracklisting:

Disc 1 - Be Here Now (Remastered)
1 D'You Know What I Mean?
2 My Big Mouth
3 Magic Pie
4 Stand By Me
5 I Hope, I Think, I Know
6 The Girl In The Dirty Shirt
7 Fade In-Out
8 Don't Go Away
9 Be Here Now
10 All Around The World
11 It's Gettin' Better (Man!!)
12 All Around The World (Reprise)

Disc 2 - B-sides & Extra Tracks
1 Stay Young
2 The Fame
3 Flashbax
4 (I Got) The Fever
5 My Sister Lover
6 Going Nowhere
7 Stand By Me (Live At Bonehead's Outtake)
8 Untitled (Demo)
9 Help! (Live In LA)
10 Setting Sun (Live Radio Broadcast)
11 If We Shadows (Demo)
12 Don't Go Away (Demo)
13 My Big Mouth (Live At Knebworth Park)
14 D'You Know What I Mean? (NG’s 2016 Rethink)

Disc 3 - Mustique Demos
1 D'You Know What I Mean? (Mustique Demo)
2 My Big Mouth (Mustique Demo)
3 My Sister Lover (Mustique Demo)
4 Stand By Me (Mustique Demo)
5 I Hope, I Think, I Know (Mustique Demo)
6 The Girl In The Dirty Shirt (Mustique Demo)
7 Don't Go Away (Mustique Demo)
8 Trip Inside (Be Here Now) (Mustique Demo)
9 Fade In-Out (Mustique Demo)
10 Stay Young (Mustique Demo)
11 Angel Child (Mustique Demo)
12 The Fame (Mustique Demo)
13 All Around The World (Mustique Demo)
14 It's Gettin' Better (Man!!) (Mustique Demo)

Buy Clash Magazine


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: