New Pornographers Return, New Album ‘Continue As Guest’ Incoming

New song 'Really Really Light' is out now...

New Pornographers will release new album ‘Continue As A Guest’ on March 31st.

The much-loved band return later this year, snapped up by Merge Records. A new album lands this Spring, 10 tracks steered by AC Newman.

Out on March 31st, the record is preceded by ‘Really Really Light’, a glorious piece of pop-speckled indie that blends astute lyrical word-play with some amazing lyrics.

A co-write with Destroyer lynchpin Dan Bejar, the song was intended for 2014 album ‘Brill Bruisers’ before being shelved; it has now been overhauled, and sits somewhere between Aloe Blacc and Tom Petty, if such a thing were possible.

“Part of my process throughout the years has been messing with things I never finished. I really liked Dan’s chorus, and for a while I was just trying to write something that I felt like belonged with it,” A.C. Newman comments.

“I was thinking of the Aloe Blacc song ‘The Man’ which interpolated the chorus from Elton John’s ‘Your Song’ and thought it would be fun to interpolate a song that no one knows. Not trying to sound like Aloe Blacc, just doing some interpolating of my own. It became a game of writing a verse that felt like a part of the same song. In my mind, I was striving for a little Jeff Lynne–era Tom Petty, a classic go-to.”

Christian Cerezo directs the full video – tune in below.

  1. Really Really Light
  2. Pontius Pilate’s Home Movies
  3. Cat and Mouse with the Light
  4. Last and Beautiful
  5. Continue as a Guest       
  6. Bottle Episodes
  7. Marie and the Undersea
  8. Angelcover
  9. Firework in the Falling Snow
  10. Wish Automatic Suite
Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.