Naima Bock Announces New Album ‘Below A Massive Dark Land’

Two new songs are online now...

Naima Bock will release new album ‘Below A Massive Dark Land’ on September 27th.

The songwriter’s debut album ‘Giant Palm’ arrived in 2022, an enriching blend of folk-hewn tones, indie-adjacent musicality, and her vivid lyrical sensibilities. Later sharing a wonderful take on Leonard Cohen’s ‘So Long, Marianne’, the record remains a go-to spin in the CLASH office.

The good news is: there’s another one on the way.

Naima Bock’s second album ‘Below A Massive Dark Land’ was largely produced by Jack Osborne (Bingo Fury) and Joe Jones, recorded at The Crypt in North London. Additional production and arrangements came from Oliver Hamilton, and of course Naima Bock herself.

Out on September 27th – order it online now – via Sub Pop/Memorials of Distinction, it’s led by two new songs, each containing their own unique sense of beauty.

‘Kaley’ was actually penned in America, and deals with both betrayal and disenchantment; ‘Further Away’ was penned in Greece, and encompasses a sense of longing.

She comments…

‘Kaley’ was written whilst staying at a friend’s house in Tucson, or at least it was finished there. It’s about betrayal and the subsequent lack of direction that follows. At the time there was no ‘plan’ or ‘way’ that I had for myself, let alone anyone else.

‘Further Away’ was written in Greece whilst trying to learn mini bouzouki and missing someone.

Finally, Naima Bock has confirmed plans for a full UK tour in November. It’s book-ended by London dates – a duo date on November 6th at St Pancras Old Church, and a full band date at the Ivy House on November 21st.


1. Gentle 
2. Kaley 
3. Feed My Release 
4. My Sweet Body 
5. Lines 
6. Further Away 
7. Takes One 
8. Age 
9. Moving 
10. Star

Photo Credit: El Hardwick

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.