ME REX Announce Debut Album ‘Giant Elk’

Check out their new single...

ME REX have laid out plans for debut album ‘Giant Elk’.

The London-meets-Brighton trio already have a devoted cult audience, with their impeccable word-play and irresistible energy making for a precocious formula. A pair of EPs in 2022 followed their epic introductory statement – the 52-track project ‘Megabear’.

‘Giant Elk’ is their project to truly embrace the album form, and it’s slated to land on October 20th via Big Scary Monsters. In a note, ME REX explain that the songwriting aims to mirror “continual fracturing and regeneration, illustrating the process of growing through loss and grief, set against the backdrop of societal and climate collapse.” 

Reminiscent in places of Los Campesinos! but given a 2k23 overhaul, new single  ‘Eutherians (Ultramarine)’ charges into view – deft of chorus, it’s an unrelenting piece of pop-edged indie songwriting.

On the new single, Myles McCabe shares… 

“Eutherians is a clade of mammals that includes humans. The word can be translated contrastingly as either ‘true beasts’ or ‘good beasts’. The lyrics follow the album’s central metaphor of a creature cursed to continue life split in half, grieving the violent separation from itself, while trying to become whole and finding some meaning in that striving. The Ultramarine referred to in the song represents alternately the infinite, domineering sky and the chaos and danger of the sea.”

Tune in now.

1. Slow Worm
2. Infinity Worm
3. Eutherians (Ultramarine)
4. Giant Giant Giant
5. Halley
6. Oliver
7. Spiders
8. Jawbone
9. Pythons
10. Strangleweed
11. Summer Brevis

Photo Credit: Benjamin Whitley

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.