It's out on April 21st...
Maximo Park (Credit: Steve Gullick)

Maxïmo Park are set to release new album 'Risk To Exist' on April 21st.

The much-loved North East indie titans broke cover last night (January 19th), sharing their new single with Steve Lamacq's 6Music show.

Low's Mimi Parker adds guest vocals, with Paul Smith's lyrics speaking of desperation, and isolation within a rapidly faltering societal system.

Paul explains: "The album is, ultimately, about empathy. Some songs are simple messages of solidarity and others are fuelled by anger at the elitist, established order of British society. There's a questioning of power throughout and a feeling that there must be a different way of structuring our society in order to alleviate inequality. Musically, the songs reflect more soulful and groove-based influences, allowing more space in the arrangements than ever before. The central idea is to align great pop melodies with songs that reflect the state of the nation."

Check it out now...

'Risk To Exist' will be released on April 21st. Tracklisting:

1. What Did We Do To You To Deserve This?
2. Get High (No, I Don't)
3. What Equals Love?
4. Risk to Exist
5. I'll Be Around
6. Work And Then Wait
7. The Hero
8. The Reason I Am Here
9. Make What You Can
10. Respond To The Feeling
11. Alchemy

Buy Clash Magazine


Follow Clash: