Mark Lanegan Band Return

'Blues Funeral' due on February 6th

Mark Lanegan Band are set to return with their new album ‘Blues Funeral’ on February 6th.

Mark Lanegan has spent the best part of a decade collaborating with other artists. A renowned vocalist and songwriter, Lanegan has earned critical acclaim for pairings with Isobel Campbell, Greg Dulli and more.

Now, though, Mark Lanegan is set to return to his solo career. The Mark Lanegan Band moniker has been dusted off, with the American songwriter focusing on a new solo album.

‘Blues Funeral’ will be released on February 6th, with sessions being wrapped up in Hollywood, California by Alain Johannes at his 11ad studio. Mark Lanegan hooked up with Jack Irons and Alain Johannes for the sessions, which included collaborations with Greg Dulli, Josh Homme and more.

The release ends a long hiatus in Lanegan’s solo career. The last album release under his own name came in 2004, with ‘Bubblegum’ becoming one of the most commercially successful entries in the singer’s back catalogue.

4AD are set to handle the release, with ‘Blues Funeral’ due to be available on download, CD and vinyl.

To accompany the release, the Mark Lanegan Band have confirmed plans to mount a major European tour. The group will hit British shores, opening their account with a Bristol show on March 4th.

Dates follow in Manchester, Dublin, Belfast, Glasgow and more with the tour wrapping up in London on March 13th. Taking place at the Shepherds Bush Empire, the tour then heads out onto the continent.

Tickets are set to go on sale shortly.

Mark Lanegan Band will play the following shows:

4 Bristol Academy
5 Manchester Academy 2
7 Dublin Academy
8 Belfast Mandela Hall
9 Glasgow ABC
10 Leeds Cockpit
12 Birmingham Library
13 London Shepherds Bush Empire

Click here to buy tickets for Mark Lanegan Band!

Photo Credit: Sam Holden

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.