Featuring three rock 'n' roll animals and "a fuck ugly bird"
Rock And Roll Animals

Luke Haines new album 'Rock And Roll Animals' is set to be released on July 29th.

The creative force behind The Auteurs and Black Box Recorder, Luke Haines is perhaps better known for his writing these days. Thankfully, the London based raconteur is set to head back into the fray with a typically ambitious solo record.

'Rock And Roll Animals' will be released through Cherry Red, the current home for Haines' miscreant endeavours. Available from July 29th, it seemingly documents the adventures of three characters: Jimmy Pursey – is a frisky fox; Nick Lowe – a solid badger and Gene Vincent – a cat who's seen a bit more of life than most of us.

Billed as a "psychedelic story for grown ups (and children)" the story follows our three heroes as they do battle with "a fuck ugly bird (from Tyneside) made of steel and wire called The Angel Of The North."


Featuring occasional narrations by 'Nighty Night' actress Julia Davis, the album will be preceded by a single featuring the title track. Pressed onto seven inch vinyl, it will also feature two non album tracks as b-sides.

Check out 'Rock And Roll Animals' below.

Luke Haines is set to release 'Rock And Roll Animals' on July 29th. Tracklisting:

1. Magic Town
2. Magic Town Interlude
3. Rock And Roll Animals
4. A Badger Called Nick Lowe
5. Three Frendz
6. Gene Vincent
7. Magic Interlude 2
8. The Birds…the birds
9. Angel Of The North
10. We Do
11. From Hersham To Heaven
12. Rock And Roll Animals

Get the best of Clash on your iPhone - download the app here


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: