Love And Rockets Tribute

Flaming Lips, Black Francis confirmed

A host of esteemed rock acts including Flaming Lips and Black Francis have gathered to pay tribute to British act Love And Rockets on a new album.

Love And Rockets grew out of goth-rock legends Bauhaus. A trio, the band took their name from a comic book and marked an attempt by the musicians involved to move out of the shadow (no joke intended) of the goth movement.

Mixing psychedelic soul with post-punk and electronic noises, Love And Rockets earned a cult following with their debut album ‘Teenage Heaven’. Their refusal to conform led to the band releasing a second album in the same style before falling in love with folk influences.

Third album ‘Earth, Sun, Moon’ was a hippy-fest, just as the Acid generation began to rediscover the Summer Of Love. Love And Rockets released a much slicker and more commercial sounding self-titled album in 1989, which spawned the hit single ‘So Alive’.

However this brush with the mainstream seemed to spur the group on to explore ever more experimental sounds, with Love And Rockets beginning to make music informed by electronic acts such as The Orb.

Still technically an on-going concern, Love And Rockets officially disbanded in 1998. The band are due to be the subject of an all star tribute album later this year, with a host of modern acts saluting their ground breaking endeavours.

The Flaming Lips are set to contribute a version of ‘Kundalini Express’. The band are due for a hectic summer, with an appearance at Scotland’s RockNess festival in just over a week. Set in a beautiful Highland valley, the perfect match of band and setting has festival fans drooling with anticipation.

Joining Wayne Coyne & Co. on the tribute album is Pixies legend Black Francis, who has recorded a version of ‘All In My Mind’.

Also due to appear on the forthcoming album are The Dandy Warhols, A Place To Bury Strangers, Dubfire and many more.

‘New Tales To Tell: A Tribute To Love And Rockets’ is due to be released on August 18th. Full tracklisting is as follows:

Black Francis- ’All in My Mind’
Puscifer- ‘Holiday on the Moon’
War Tapes- ’Love Me’
Blaqk Audio- ‘No New Tale to Tell
Dubfire- ‘I Feel Speed’
The Dandy Warhols- ‘Inside the Outside’
The Flaming Lips- Kundalini Express’
Sweethead- ‘Life in Laralay’
Film School- ‘An American Dream’
A Place To Bury Strangers- ‘The Light’
Monster Magnet vs Adrian Young- ’Mirror People’
The Stone Foxes- ‘Fever
Frankenstein 3000- ‘No Big Deal’
VEX- ‘It Could Be Sunshine’
Better Than Ezra- ‘So Alive’
Chantal Claret vs Adrian Young- ‘Lazy’
Ian Moore- ‘Sweet F.A.
Snowden- ‘No Words No More’

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.