Lou Reed Adds ‘Lollapalooza’ Details

Full tracklisting confirmed...

Lou Reed has confirmed the entire tracklisting for his forthcoming ‘Lollapalooza Live’ DVD.

Continually pushing forward, Lou Reed remains infuriatingly difficult to predict. Currently working on an album with thrash icons Metallica, the seminal singer is also putting the finishing touches to a new DVD.

Performing at Lollapalooza back in 2009, the singer played a sparkling set alongside groups half his age. Shot in high definition, the footage from the show is set to be released on DVD later this summer.

‘Lollapalooza Live’ will be released on August 9th, and contains some classics from throughout the singer’s career.

Lou Reed throws in the Velvet Underground track ‘Sweet Jane’ alongside his 1972 single ‘Walk On The Wild Side’. An ode to his Factory day, the track was surrounded by pearls from throughout Lou Reed’s career.

‘Dirty Boulevard’ and ‘Waves Of Fear’ both make an appearance, while ‘Senselessly Cruel’ is given an airing.

The DVD features Lou Reed’s then band including: Rob Wasserman (bass), Tony ‘Thunder’ Smith (drums), Mike Rathke (guitar), Steve Hunter (who played on Lou Reed’s ‘Berlin’), Kevin Hearn (keyboards), Ulrich Krieger (sax), Sarth Calhoun (electronics, fingerboard continuum, processing) and of course Lou Reed (vocals, guitar, continuum).

The performance also features a 15 minute mid section focussing on the Metal Machine Trio. Instrumental noise, the trio are inspired by – but do not perform – Lou Reed’s album ‘Metal Machine Music’.

Touring widely, the Metal Machine Trio were a deeply improvisational collective meaning that each performance was vastly different from the last.

Lou Reed is set to release ‘Lollapalooza Live’ on August 1st.

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.