Listen: DRC Music – Kinshasa One Two

Stream it now...

DRC Music are streaming their album ‘Kinshasa One Two’ a week before its release.

Africa’s musical output remains frustratingly unrecognised. A vast continent, the African music scene extends from South African house all the way up to the Muslim chants of Tunisia, encompassing vast stylistic shifts.

Choosing to ship out to the Democratic Republic of Congo, DRC Music is a loose knit collective put together by Damon Albarn. The Blur singer was joined by a disparate cast featuring T-E-E-D (Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs), Dan The Automator, Jneiro Jarel, Richard Russell, Actress, Marc Antoine, Alwest, Remi Kabaka, Rodaidh McDonald and Kwes.

Joined by local musicians, DRC Music quickly swelled to contain over 50 members. Returning to the UK, the collective began whittling down the recordings into something approaching a coherent album.

‘Kinshasa One Two’ is set to be released on October 3rd, with Warp handling the album. All funds from the release will go towards Oxfam, who are battling to help the people of the Democratic Republic of Congo after years of armed conflict and internal struggle.

Streaming their album over on Hype Machine, DRC Music have decided to let fans listen to ‘Kinshasa One Two’ before its release. Listen to it now…

– – –

DRC Music are set to release ‘Kinshasa One Two’ on October 3rd. Tracklisting:

1. Hallo featuring Tout Puissant Mukalo and Nelly Liyemge
2. K-Town featuring N’Gotshima and Bebson
3. African Space Anthem (A.S.A) featuring Ewing Sima of Tout Puissant Mukalo
4. Love featuring Love
5. Lingala featuring Bokatola System and Evala Litongo
6. Lourds featuring Yende Bongongo of Okwess International
7. Respect Of The Rules featuring Loi X Liberal
8. We Come From The Forest featuring Bokatola System
9. Customs featuring Bokatola System
10. Virginia featuring Magakala Virginia Yollande and Yowa Hollande
11. Ah Congo featuring Jupiter Bokondji and Bokatola System
12. Three Piece Sweet part 1 &2 featuring Bebson
13. If You Wish to Stay Awake featuring Washiba
14. Departure featuring Bokatola System

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.