Leftfield Announce New Album ‘This Is What We Do’

New track 'PULSE' is online now...

Seminal UK electronic group Leftfield will release new album ‘This Is What We Do’ on December 2nd.

The incoming album represents the project’s first studio album in seven years, and follows on from 2015’s superb ‘Alternative Light Source’. That LP was accompanied by a slew of live dates, in which Leftfield stretched and retooled their catalogue from different vantage points.

Out on December 2nd, ‘This Is What We Do’ was constructed alongside mix engineer Adam Wren, a long-time Leftfield associate. The list of guests is intriguing, too – Fontaines D.C. frontman Grian Chatten appears on one track, a rare feature from the Irish musician, while spoken word artist Lemn Sissay has also contributed.

The album artwork features a shot by photographer Steve McCurry, and aims to represent a break with Leftfield’s previous artwork, which was often marked by its clinical ‘cool’ feel.

So, what’s in store? New track ‘PULSE’ is online now, and it’s a ripper – a muscular piece of defiant electronics, one that is marked by Leftfield’s finesse while pushing that sonic identity into a distinctly fresh sphere.

Leftfield founder Neil Barnes comments: “I wanted ‘Pulse’ to be the first statement from the new album. It felt strong. Dance floor. Human. Positive. And I love the bass. It’s Leftfield.” 

Tune in now.


  1. This Is What We Do 
  2. Full Way Round 
  3. Making A Difference 
  4. City of Synths 
  5. Pulse
  6. Machines Like Me
  7. Rapture 16 
  8. Heart and Soul 
  9. Accumulator
  10. Come On
  11. The Power of Listening
Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.