'Wakin On A Pretty Daze' due on April 8th
Wakin On A Pretty Daze

Kurt Vile is set to release his new album 'Wakin On A Pretty Daze' through Matador on April 8th.

For too long a peripheral figure in American indie rock, 'Smoke Ring For My Halo' saw Kurt Vile seize centre stage. Doped up hymns delivered in a Dlyan-esque drawl, it's widespread success sparked a massive international tour from Kurt Vile and his devout backing band The Violators.

Now a follow up has been announced. Recorded with producer John Agnello in a variety of studios, 'Wakin On A Pretty Daze' is a hefty comeback clocking in at 69 minutes.

Opening track 'Wakin On A Pretty Day' was placed online this afternoon. Nine minutes long, the piece of both cyclical and subtly evolutionary with Kurt Vile leading you in spirals above the stereo.

Listen to it below. Something to note: the time lapse video features Steve Powers crafting the mural which appears in the album artwork (which you can examine above).

- - -

Kurt Vile is set to release 'Waking On A Pretty Daze' on April 8th. Tracklisting:

Side A:
1. Wakin On A Pretty Day
2. KV Crimes
3. Was All Talk

Side B:
4. Girl Called Alex
5. Never Run Away
6. Pure Pain

Side C:
7. Too Hard
8. Shame Chamber
9. Snowflakes Are Dancing

Side D:
10. Air Bud
11. Goldtone

Look out for Kurt Vile and the Violators at this year's Field Day - Victoria Park, May 25th.


Follow Clash:

Read more about...