Kode9 DJ Kicks Tracklisting

Dubstep guru curates mix

Reclusive dubstep guru Kode9 has unveiled the tracklisting to his forthcoming DJ Kicks compilation.

Real name Steve Goodman, Kode9 is one of the most important figures in the dubstep world. His bone crushing productions has become a staple of the scene, helping to inspire innovation in the bass world.

Meanwhile, Goodman has an alternate role as a lecturer at the University Of Warwick. Researching sound and its role in society, he recently published a fascinating book via MIT titled ‘Sonic Warfare: Sound, Affect, and the Ecology of Fear’.

A renowned DJ, Kode9’s own productions have moved beyond dubstep to incorporate techno, UK funky and more. Agreeing to curate a compilation for the DJ Kicks series, the Scottish producer has taken his role seriously.

A superb overview of the British bass scene, Kode9 has confirmed details of the tracklisting. Drawing heavily on his own productions and those released by his label Hyperdub, the compilation contains an exclusive Kode9 track entitled ‘You Don’t Wash’.

Opening with Lone’s ‘Once In A While’ the compilation features Hyperdub signing Ikonika. A female producer, her futuristic soul has taken the bass scene by storm.

Containing dubstep pioneers Digital Mystikz, grime hero Terror Danjah also appears. Finishing with a track from The Bug the new mix looks to be a superb primer for where the bass scene is heading.

Due for release on June 21st, the new DJ Kicks compilation follows hot on the heels of acclaimed efforts from Ewan Pearson and The Juan MacLean.

Kode9 DJ Kicks tracklisting:

1. Lone Once In A While
2. Aardvarck Revo
3. Kode9 Blood Orange
4. Kode9 You Don’t Wash (DJ-Kicks exclsuive)
5. Cooly G Phat Si
6. Ill Blu Bellion
7. Ikonika Heston
8. Scratcha DVA Jelly Roll
9. Mr Mageeka Different Lekstrix
10. Grievous Angel Move Down Low
11. Sticky feat. Natalie Storm Look Pon Me
12. Sticky Jumeirah Riddim Sequel
13. Mujava Pleaze Mugwanti
14. DVA Natty
15. Aardvaarck Re Spoken (Nubian Mindz Released Mix)
16. Morgan Zarate feat. Sarah Ann Webb M.A.B.
17. Rozzi Daime Dirty Illusions
18. Zomby Spiralz
19. Kode9 It
20. J*DaVeY Mr. Mister
21. Digital Mystikz 2 Much Chat
22. Terror Danjah Stiff
23. Digital Mystikz Mountain Dread March
24. Zomby Godzilla
25. Digital Mystikz Mountain Dread March (Reprise)
26. Addison Groove Footcrab
27. Kode9 vs. LD Bad
28. Maddslinky Cargo
29. Ramadanman Work Them
30. Terror Danjah Bruzin (VIP)
31. The Bug Run (feat. Flo Dan)

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.