Ambitious new album confirmed...
King Creosote

For Scots around the globe, 2014 is an extremely important year.

A national referendum will be held, which could well result in Scottish independence. Alongside this, Glasgow will host the Commonwealth Games, once more thrusting the nation onto the world stage.

King Creosote is set to reflect on Scottish identity with new album 'From Scotland With Love'. The album accompanies a new documentary film of the same name, with director Virginia Heath and producer Grant Keir utilising archive footage but not using interview or sound recordings.

As a result, King Creosote's music is designed to tell the story of those images. Writing from a number of difference perspectives, the press release states that the album covers theme such as "love and loss, war, resistance, emigration, work and play".

Recorded at Glasgow's Chem19 facility with Paul Savage at the controls, King Creosote was joined by his band - Derek O’Neill (keyboards), Andy Robinson (drums), Pete Mcleod (bass), and Kevin Brolly (clarinet) – as well as an additional string section (arranged by cellist Pete Harvey), and a choir of backing vocalists.

All very intriguing. Here's a preview clip.

'From Scotland With Love' will be released on July 21st. Tracklisting:

1 Something To Believe In
2 Cargill
3 Largs
4 Miserable Strangers
5 Leaf Piece
6 For One Night Only
7 Bluebell, Cockleshell, 123
8 One Floor Down
9 Crystal 8s
10 Pauper’s Dough
11. A Prairie Tale

Finally... King Creosote is set to play the album in full alongside the 'From Scotland With Love' documentary at the Barbican on September 27th.

Buy Clash Magazine

Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: