Julie Byrne Returns With New Album ‘The Greater Wings’

"A love letter to my chosen family..."

Julie Byrne will release new album ‘The Greater Wings’ on July 7th.

The record is her first in six years, and follows breakthrough LP ‘Not Even Happiness’. A truly exquisite artist, the project is said to be informed by challenging personal circumstances, and an emotional breakthrough.

Out on July 7th via Ghostly International, ‘The Greater Wings’ is a record framed by grief, but also by living, and the commitments we make to one another. “My hope for ‘The Greater Wings’ is that it lives as a love letter to my chosen family and as an expression of the depth of my commitment to our shared future,” Julie Byrne explains in a note to fans. 

“Being reshaped by grief also has me more aware of what death does not take from me. I commit that to heart, to words, to sound. Music is not bound to any kind of linear time, so in the capacity to record and speak to the future: this is what it felt like to me, when we were simultaneous, alive, occurring all at once. What it has felt like to go up against my edge and push, the love that has made it worth all this fight. These memories are my values, they belong with me.”

New song ‘Summer Glass’ fully embraces these themes, a stunning record that showcases Julie Byrne at her most creative. A lucid, dulcet synth ballad, it grapples with rivulets of trauma before surging towards a place of euphoria.

Tune in now.

1. The Greater Wings
2. Portrait of a Clear Day
3. Moonless
4. Summer Glass
5. Summer’s End
6. Lightning Comes Up From The Ground
7. Flare
8. Conversation is a Flowstate
9. Hope’s Return
10. Death Is The Diamond

Photo Credit: Tonje Thilesen

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.