Jamie xx Announces New Album ‘In Waves’

It's out on September 20th...

Jamie xx has laid out plans for new album ‘In Waves’.

The revered producer is on a hot run of late, fresh from his Honey Dijon collaboration ‘Baddy On The Floor’ and his epic 10-night stand at South East London’s Venue MOT – his fabled The Floor residency.

This summer brings fresh material, with the release of his first full solo album since 2015’s ‘In Colour’. Out on September 20th via Young, ‘In Waves’ has been four years in the making, a process kicked off by his Essential Mix in 2020.

Guests on the record include Robyn, The Avalanches, Kelsey Lu, John Glacier and Panda Bear, Oona Doherty and his The xx bandmates Romy and Oliver Sim.

New single ‘Treat Each Other Right’ is out now, a rush of electronic energy that dips into his never-ending bag of samples. Backed by a Rosie Marks directed video, it’s an immediate anthem – introducing the record, Jamie xx comments…

“My new album, ‘In Waves’ will be out on September 20th. I am so unbelievably happy.

It’s been a while…  and a lot has happened in that time. Ups and downs, growing up, figuring stuff out and then forgetting it all many times over. Life changing events and world changing events. These waves that we have all experienced together and alone.

I wanted to make something fun, joyful and introspective all at once. The best moments on a dance floor are usually that for me.

I can’t wait to share it with you

Love Jamie xx”

Tune in now.

1. Wanna
2. Treat Each Other Right
3. Waited All Night (ft. Romy & Oliver Sim)
4. Baddy On The Floor (ft. Honey Dijon)
5. Dafodil (ft. Kelsey Lu, John Glacier & Panda Bear)
6. Still Summer
7. Life (ft. Robyn)
8. The Feeling I Get From You
9. Breather
10. All You Children (ft. The Avalanches)
11. Every Single Weekend (Interlude)
12. Falling Together (ft. Oona Doherty)

Photo Credit: Alasdair McLellan

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.